Meet Mark Peterson

Meet Mark Peterson, the man responsible for Lily’s lost job when he moves back to town and decides to give teaching a try. Needless to say, she’s not a fan.

What do you look like?
I have dark hair. My eyes are green. I need glasses to read, and I love a new suit.
What do you like to wear?
How a man dresses is how he wants to be perceived. Unless I’m ill, you’ll find me in a suit. Dressing down to me is a sweater and khakis. I love a new pair of J. Crew socks, but what man doesn’t?
How do you like to socialize?
Socializing is best over coffee or dinner. It helps ease the nerves. Of course I’m referring to the other person. I’m rarely nervous.


What was your first best friend like?
In first grade, Tommy Harding was my best friend. We were both obsessed with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, if you can believe that. He has since moved away and we’ve lost touch.
What ‘group’ were you in during your high school years?
I was on the soccer team and ran track, so the teams were often together off the field as well.
What did you want to be when you grew up–and what did you end up becoming?
I always saw myself as a stock broker, a CEO, or some sort of business man. I’m a freshman English teacher now, and it’s not going as well as I’d hoped.
What are your hobbies?
I love to read. I read Shakespeare daily, and anything else I can get my hands on.
What music do you listen to?
My radio is usually on NPR, but I do enjoy alternative every once in a while.
What annoys you?
My students can be challenging sometimes. Also, I don’t like when people are clearly in the wrong relationship but are too blind to see it.
What makes you laugh?
My students make me laugh. Sometimes I have to laugh at the state of the world, or else I’d go crazy. Miss Morgan is quite funny as well, but she doesn’t give herself enough credit in that department, or any department from what I’m gathering.
Are you a dog or a cat person?
I own a husky named Scout. Cats are so finicky and impersonal.
What season do you enjoy most?
I enjoy winter. Snow is beautiful, so crisp, white, and clean.
Do you drink alcohol?
I like to have some wine with my dinner. I drank enough beers in college to last the rest of my days.
What do you feel most passionately about?
It’s important to educate yourself and keep learning into adulthood. Self-exploration and growth should be incorporated into our daily lives.
What trait do you find most admirable in others?
I love someone with a sense of humor. Despite the tie, I love to laugh and I’m drawn to funny people.
What scares you?
I don’t like disappointing others. I consider myself reliable, so when that’s questioned, I fear how that affects my relationships.
What are your long term goals?
As far as career, I don’t know if I will remain in education. Otherwise, I would love to get married and have a family. I want to be a father someday.
What are your bad habits?
My sister seems to think I have a rather high opinion of myself. I’m learning she’s not alone in her thinking. I see nothing wrong with having self-confidence.
If you could have lived in another decade which would it have been?
The idea of time travel doesn’t interest me. I believe we were all put here at a specific time.
What do you do when you’re bored?
Teachers are rarely bored, but if I find myself with extra time, I read.
What do you think happens after we die?
It’s not for us to know in our lifetime. We won’t know until it happens.
If you were to come into money what would you do with it?
I would add it to my savings account. I don’t like to spend frivolously.
Who was the love of your life?
It may be too soon to tell, but there is a woman I’m falling for. She is fighting back feelings for me, even if she won’t admit it, and I will remain patient. I know she is worth the wait and the fight.

Questions from Carly Watters: 30 Questions to Ask Your Main Character

Leave a Reply

