Finishing

I must confess. I’m addicted to editing. I’ve been tied to the same manuscript for seven years now. That’s a long time in case you weren’t aware. And I hear it’s strange to be addicted to editing? Beats me. Anyway, you may have seen this infographic before. It shows how long it took to write several famous novels. I’m right in there with Lord of the Flies and Harry Potter. Now of course Golding and Rowling are more talented than I will ever be, and they knew what they were doing at the time, I assume.

But none of that is the point of this post. Focus, Lauren.

I must also confess I’m in love with Ze Frank. That’s the point. The man is magnetic in every possible way. And I have developed a legit crush on him. I kid you not. FYI, it’s quite possible and highly likely the same will happen to you if you watch enough of his videos. Those eyes. Focus. This video in particular is great advice, if, like me, you struggle with walking away from a project or knowing when to stop.

(“FILDI” stands for “Fuck it, let’s do it.” 🙂 Love.)

If he sounds familiar to you, you may know him from the hilarious “True Facts” videos and as the narrator for Sad Cat/Dog Diary. I will most likely post more of his relevant videos in the future, but if you want to explore, here’s his channel. He no longer posts videos like this, which makes me want to weep, but there are some truly inspiring words embedded in all the silliness. I already know of two videos I’ll be posting in future blogs.

Now, I hear what he’s saying, and I agree, but that doesn’t mean it’s easy. I just can’t get past the feeling that I can make my manuscript better. I can barely read a page without changing something, even if that something is only one word.

But I think, deep down, the reason I can’t walk away is because I don’t want to. I love my characters and how they’ve helped me, and walking away means it’s over and we don’t get to hang out anymore. Sure, I can write other stories, but it’s not the same, you know?

Eventually, there will come a time when I can say, “I’m finished.” But for the foreseeable future, I’m going to pick away until I feel confident it’s ready for a finishing stamp.

One thought on “Finishing

Leave a Reply

