Meet Anna Grant

Meet Anna Grant, Lily’s oldest friend and the one who’s always right. She wants what’s best for Lily but has an odd way of showing it.

What do you look like?
Listen, a bob is the way to go. Mine’s brown. I’d be a lost soul without my black eyeliner. Seriously.
What do you like to wear?
Sleek and chic. Heels are an absolute must. As a realtor, I must look polished and refined. I like to wear suits. A sharp blazer with red heels? Can you say hot damn?
How do you like to socialize?
I don’t have time to socialize. Work keeps me pretty busy. I haven’t even seen my husband in three days.


What was your first best friend like?
I had lots of friends growing up, but Lily was my first real friend. We met in the second grade. She let me use her green crayon and back then, that’s all it took to decide, “Yep, we’re going to be best friends.” It was an instant bond though. Then Hunter joined us in sixth grade and we’ve all been joined at the hip since then.
What ‘group’ were you in during your high school years?
I was a cheerleader as a freshman, but I couldn’t stand those bitches and their drama. I joined Mock Trial after that. I was a natural. I hung out with Lily and Hunter pretty much all of my waking hours.
What did you want to be when you grew up–and what did you end up becoming?
I never had a definite job in mind, but I knew I wanted to be the one in charge and calling the shots. I’m a real estate agent and a damn good one. I have a knack for getting people to do what I say. It’s a gift.
What are your hobbies?
That’s hilarious. Who has time for hobbies?
What music do you listen to?
I’m a sucker for 80s music. It’s so cheesy, but I love it.
What annoys you?
How much time do you have? Hesitant house buyers for one. When Lily won’t listen to me for two.
What makes you laugh?
Lily. But I’m mostly laughing at her life choices these days. I hope she wakes the hell up soon. I miss my friend. There’s this guy who has sucked the reality right out of her, I swear. And Hunter’s hysterical, of course.
Are you a dog or a cat person?
I don’t like pets.
What season do you enjoy most?
Summer is great time for the real estate market. People are much more likely to attend open houses on a nice sunny day.
Do you drink alcohol?
God, yes. Nathan and I want to have kids, but I don’t know if I can go nine months. If you knew some of people I work with, you’d understand.
What do you feel most passionately about?
Escrow. Seriously.
What trait do you find most admirable in others?
People who follow their heart. Like Lily. Although, at times she takes it to the extreme. I’ve always followed my mind instead. I think I would’ve lead a very different life if I had her mindset. Not better, just different.
What scares you?
Not being a good mother when the time comes. I worry I’ll end up one of those workaholic moms who misses ballet recitals. I don’t want to be her.
What are your long term goals?
I’m starting to get a bit of baby fever. So that’s on my mind. But I’d also like to break my own sales records.
What are your bad habits?
I chew gum like it’s my job. I had a rebellious phase in college and started smoking, and I used the gum to help me quit, and I did. But now I’m addicted to gum. What are you gonna do. Hunter says I’m too hard on Lily, but it’s for her own good, and Lord knows Hunter isn’t going to play Bad Cop.
If you could have lived in another decade which would it have been?
Does that include the future? I’d like to live in like 5050 or something, with flying cars and all those gadgets you see in those nerdy movies Nathan likes to watch. That’s my husband.
What do you do when you’re bored?
What is this ‘bored’ you speak of?
What do you think happens after we die?
I have no idea, but it’s no concern of mine. I have enough to deal with while I’m alive, let alone worry about when I’m dead.
If you were to come into money what would you do with it?
I’d put it in a trust fund for my future kids. No question.
Who was the love of your life?
My husband, Nathan. He’s a CEO. I’m his better half, but I love that man to pieces. I don’t know how he tolerates me. I’m a real piece of work sometimes. We’re a good balance though. I just wish our work schedules weren’t so intense so we could spend more time together. He might as well be overseas.

Questions from Carly Watters: 30 Questions to Ask Your Main Character

This is the final character interview. Hope you enjoyed them!

Leave a Reply

