Where Author and MC Meet: Part 2

Here. This’ll change your life.”

Catcher in the Rye? Really? That’s my favorite book.”

So in the career department, Lily and I are basically one in the same, but what else do we have in common?

We share the same favorite book, Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.

I sort of hate that this is my favorite because it’s pretty cliche, right? But it’s true. I first read it in high school, not for class but as a recommendation from a friend. There was something so real about the narration. I don’t really know how to explain it, nor can I remember what it was like reading it for the first time. Back then, I’d never read a first person POV with such a captivating voice.

I’ve read it several times since then, and as Tyler says, “I always find something new in it.” The last time I read it, I read the entire thing aloud. Looking back on it, I should’ve just searched for the audiobook. What a genius. Next time. But I think hearing a book and not just seeing the words on the page gives you a whole new experience.

Lily and I both collect copies. I don’t have as many as she does though. Here’s my very small collection, if I can get away with calling it that.

catcher.png

I bought myself a Pency Prep pennant for my desk. It’s in the background of my Twitter pic. You can get one here. (This site often has sales. I think I scored 30% off. Woo!)

I mention Catcher a few times in my book. The first time Lily and Tyler share a connection, a “moment” even, happened when discussing it, so it has a certain significance for them. And it since it’s my favorite, I wanted to include it.

For my women’s lit class in college, I remember giving a presentation comparing Holden Caulfield’s views of women with those of The Graduate’s Benjamin Braddock. In case you were wondering, I did an awesome job. And because I save everything, take a gander at this:

grade

Keeping this over 10 years is equal parts impressive & troublesome.

 

Lily and I both have yet to read any other Salinger novels, but at least I knew he wrote other books! I’ve had Nine Stories on my shelf for probably ten years now, and I’ve only read the first story in it, “A Perfect Day for Bananafish.” But what a story!

I didn’t know much about Salinger himself until a few months ago when I watched this amazing documentary on his life, which he would have hated, being such a recluse. Check out the trailer:

(I think someone has posted the entire film on YouTube if you’re interested.)

I’m going to assume Lily hasn’t seen this documentary, but I bet Tyler has it on DVD. Yeah, definitely.

7542255_2461343_lz

Leave a Reply

