That Inner Voice

Everyone has one. That inner voice.

Sometimes my inner voice is a bitch. “What are you doing? You’re not good enough? This is terrible. You should be ashamed.”

Sometimes my inner voice is my biggest fan. “Wow, great sentence. This is definitely getting published; don’t you worry. You’re an awesome writer.”

Sometimes my inner voice is a procrastinator. “There’s time to send out some more queries. I don’t think you’re quite ready yet. You should probably look over a few more chapters before you send out any more emails, OK?”

Sometimes my inner voice is creative. “Let’s start a new story. I have a few ideas that will basically write themselves.”

Sometimes my inner voice is motivating. “Come on, get out of bed. We’re going to write all day. And if you write five pages, we’ll get some chocolate. On me. You’ve got this!”

Sometimes my inner voice is realistic. “This is just a hobby. Get your head out of the clouds. Now pay your bills.”

I never know which voice will join me for the day. It’s sort of like a mood ring. And if I’m really lucky, I get a combination. More often than not, that inner voice is negative. I mean, look what I used as my first example.

No matter what this voice of mine says, I’m going to keep writing, because it seems writing is the only thing in my life I can control these days, so I’m going to hang onto it.

This week, that voice has been motivating. I’ve managed to send out 3 queries. Woot! I realize three is no big deal in the grand scheme of agent querying, but with my background, three is medal podium worthy. I had to include a synopsis too. So there.

What does your inner voice sound like?

Leave a Reply

