Writing Hidden Backstory

Lately, I’ve been picking at a one page narrative about Lily’s relationship with her first boyfriend, Todd. I actually have cherishsmithauthor to thank for the idea. Thanks, Cherish!

But it’s been much harder than I expected. There’s sort of a running joke in I’m Only Me about Lily’s boyfriend being boring.

 

I’ve always had a vague idea about their relationship, but I never really thought about it in detail. I’ve had to decide on what their first date was like, and why on Earth Lily would stay with this guy for three years. Trying to write this backstory is teaching me more about Lily. Now I wish I would’ve done this a few years ago!

Maybe I’ll post part of “Lily and Todd” in the future.

I’d read some advice that you should write information about your character that never makes it into the book. It’s an exercise to make your characters rounded and real. Great advice. Character interviews are an easy way to round out your characters as well. Something else I wish I would’ve done years ago.

In other news, it’s the last day of January. Can you believe it? I swear that ball just dropped. I hope you made it a good one and started off 2017 on the right foot.

I promise this site will always be 100% politics free, so I’ll just say, it’s a crazy world these days. I suggest taking a break from it to write some backstory. Now. Go.

Stay motivated out there!

Leave a Reply

