Query Update & Rejection

As of today, I have sent out a total of 8 queries.

I have received 2 rejections.

These things take time. After reading several submission guidelines from different agencies, I’ve seen turn around times anywhere from 2 to 12 weeks.

And wouldn’t you know it? Ze Frank has some thoughts on the topic of rejection. There are so many videos about rejection on YouTube. But there’s only one Ze. I love this video. But you already knew that.

My first rejection back in December was awesome. Yes, you read that right. I took a screenshot of the email and made it my desktop background.

Let me explain, and Ze touches on this a bit. Being rejected sucks and it hurts, but it’s also a sign that you’ve put yourself out there. You’ve taken a risk. Speaking as someone who hates risks, even having another soul read one sentence I’d written took time, pep-talks, and lots of chocolate to restore an adequate happiness/peace level. It has gotten easier—shout-out to Scribophile!—but I still get a giant lump in my throat, sweat profusely, you know, the usual nervous cliches. But I digress.

Sending out that first query was huge. And the subsequent rejection I received wasn’t a rejection to me at all. It was a triumph. It was my proof that I had finally been brave enough. Best of all, it gave me the confidence to try it again. Huge.

This quote comes to mind.

thomasaedison132683

When I get to my 10,000th rejection, I can guarantee I won’t be feeling anything I have expressed in this post.

I have decided to keep track of my queries and rejections in its own spot on this site. I will keep it updated as I query.

Keep on keepin’ on.

Leave a Reply

