Books are Annoying

This post was inspired by both #authorconfession, a Twitter hashtag game, and another of my favorite VlogBrothers videos. Let’s talk about what annoys us when it comes to books.

Here’s Hank Green ranting about books. It’s awesome and oh-so-relatable.

Books can be annoying, can’t they? But unlike Hank, I’d rather complain about the content, not the appearance.

Other than the obvious gripes about a book (it’s boring, too long, too many characters, wooden dialogue, just plain lame), I haven’t been satisfied with a book’s ending lately.

I can’t think of the last book I read with a satisfying ending. I can’t. But a craptastic ending? Two come to mind: Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. I won’t spoil them in case you haven’t read them.

Gone Girl was such a great read. It was the kind of book where you have to stop a minute and think about what you just read, let it sink in. Like it was so good, you just need to compose yourself, you know what I mean?

But if I spend hours with characters in their world, I don’t want to be disappointed at the end. And I was.

Don’t judge a book by it’s ending though. They’re both awesome books and I’d recommend both of them. I just thought the endings were…eh.

So knowing how important endings are to novels (and movies btw), I didn’t want my book to suffer from lame-ending-syndrome. Yikes. No cure.

When I started writing I’m Only Me, I didn’t know how it was going to end. I knew something that definitely wouldn’t happen, but I wasn’t sure what should. I like my ending. I didn’t always, and I think my characters convinced me to like it, which isn’t as crazy as it sounds. I had a second ending in my head, but it didn’t have the same feeling as the one I went with. Maybe I can release an alternate ending like some movies do.

There I go again, getting ahead of myself.

You know what else I don’t like about books? Forced love. I may or may not be guilty of this myself. But you know when a character is first introduced, and you just know that person is so-and-so’s love interest? It’s so obvious. And it annoys me. Come to think of it, I am guilty of this. Dammit.

This last one may be just a touch off-topic, but it’s my blog. I can do whatever I want. Speaking as a former English teacher, I think English class does students a great disservice. They are forced to read books that will most likely bore them. They have to write essays about these books. They analyze and overanalyze every character’s every word and action. They do projects and presentations. And it makes them hate reading. I’ve seen it in action. It’s sad. That’s all. I’m done.

How much weight do you put into a book’s ending? Does it make or break the rest of it for you? What do you think of obvious love connections? What else annoys you about books?

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

