How to Leave that First Book Behind

I started writing I’m Only Me in 2011. I am forcing myself to give the manuscript ONE last pass* as I’m preparing to send it to agents. With that in mind, the first fifty pages are finished. As in I will NOT go back and read them.

And I can’t properly articulate the emotions I’m feeling. I know it’s cheesy, but these characters are more than dialogue and description on a page. They feel more real to me than actual people. I’d even go as far as to say they’re like friends. Wow, cheese! Get me some nachos.

I’ve started, sort of, a new project. It’s called What Sam Said and it’s in its infancy. I have about three chapters worth at this point. Unlike I’m Only Me, I have no plan with it. I don’t know what’s going to happen. I’m not feeling the connection with my characters this time around either. I think I’ll devote a separate post to this WIP in the future.

Image result for i'll never let go

The title of this post is deceiving. I’m sorry for that. But the truth is I don’t know how you leave that first book behind. I have no idea how to say goodbye to characters you’ve created. It’s like your first love. You never really get over that. I have a feeling I’ll be comparing anything else I write to I’m Only Me. Until the end of time. I hope I’m wrong.

Then I stop and wonder if I have another book in me. My new WIP will most likely fizzle into nothing. So Lily and Co. are all I have. I’ve put all my writing dreams into this one novel. I fear when it’s over, if I ever allow it to be over, that’ll be it. I won’t have the release I get from writing anymore, because I won’t be writing anymore. Again, I hope I’m wrong.

I considered a sequel, but I talked myself out of it in five minutes. I like the ending the way it is. About a year ago, I wrote about a 3 page scene just for fun, and it was, but I don’t think a sequel is the right move.

So, besides writing something new, how does one get over that first major writing relationship? I just don’t know.

*That’s a lie. It needs one more after the current one. Yeah, I know. You don’t have to tell me.

3 thoughts on “How to Leave that First Book Behind

Leave a Reply

