Where Author and MC Meet: Part 3

Lily and I both love romantic comedies. The main difference to note right up front, however, is that I know it’s just a movie. Lily sees a sort of reality in these movies and even wants to live in one. She wants to fall for the leading man–or change someone into a leading man. Sorry, Tyler.

Karen Greenfield

For the most part, romantic comedies are all the same: boy meets girl, they fall in love, the end. It’s a formula. I think that’s part of the appeal.

Related image

My absolute favorite romantic comedy is My Best Friend’s Wedding. When I first saw this movie, I thought how refreshing it was to break the formula. Kudos. Why isn’t this post all about it? It isn’t Lily’s favorite. So let’s move on.

Lily, Hunter, and Anna watch The Notebook religiously. Is that even a romantic comedy? God, that ending. I liked this movie OK, but I don’t understand why it’s put on such a pedestal. My characters treat it like the be all end all, especially Hunter, but I mean, so many woman see it as THE romantic movie. But this isn’t Lily’s favorite either.

Image result for the notebook memeImage result for the notebook meme

When Harry Met Sally. I’m in love with it. True, this is not my favorite, simply because Julia Roberts can’t be beat. But I love WHMS so much. So much. It might as well be tied for first, unless that’s cheating. This one is Lily’s favorite.Image result for when harry met sally meme

 

The first time I saw this movie was in college. A small group of us watched it in the lounge of our dorm, and I remember thinking, why haven’t I seen this movie before?! At some point that same sophomore year of college, I remember knocking on my friend’s door–she lived across the hall–and asked if I could borrow WHMS. It was around midnight and I couldn’t sleep. I had to see this movie. At that particular time in my life, I found the movie comforting, which I know sounds super weird, and that night, I needed to feel that.

Since then, I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve seen it, but it still holds up. It’s still just as funny and relevant and honest as it was then. Billy Crystal makes the film. I love Meg Ryan and all, but Billy Crystal? Come on.Related imageSo what’s the appeal for Lily? Lily believes in fate, that two people who are meant to be together, will end up together. The way that Harry and Sally keep meeting up after years apart is super romantic to her.

Of course I had to include WHMS in my novel. Image result for when harry met sally memeTyler also likes this movie, which Lily sees as fate. He doesn’t agree, but that’s another story. There are several references throughout. Tyler and Lily end up watching this movie together. It was actually one of the first scenes I wrote. Man, that’s crazy to think about. The scene hasn’t changed that much in revisions, but I’ve trimmed it. I liked the idea of two people on the phone watching WHMS just like Harry and Sally. Cute, right?

Image result for when harry met sally phone

The most popular scene is the orgasm one, but there are so many scenes that are better than that! I could probably post twenty different clips, but I’ll go with this:

Just talking about it, and searching for photos and clips, has made me want to watch it again. I forgot to mention, if for some strange reason, you have not seen this film, for the love of God, go watch it. Right now. I’m serious. It is required viewing. Go. Right now.

Leave a Reply

