What I’m Reading

It shames me to admit I was an English major and I taught English for eight years, but it wasn’t until this year that I started reading 1984. I hope this doesn’t change your opinion of me too much.

It was never on any syllabus or part of any curriculum, so I’m sorry. I barely read anything I wasn’t required to read, only because I didn’t have the time or the desire really. When summer break came, the last thing I wanted to do was read.

Image result for reading meme

I’m not that far into the novel yet, so this isn’t a book review per say, but rather an initial impression.

As of this post, I’m on chapter six, around page 55 or so. It’s been a slow start. I could stop at anytime. It’s one of those kinds of books, you know, where you could just put it down and never think of it again. That probably hurts to hear if you’re a big fan of this novel.

I’m going to keep reading it though. I just think it’s one of those books you should read.

As a teacher, I got so accustomed to playing the audio of almost everything we read as an accommodation for some students. I found the audio on YouTube and I follow along in the book. So technically, I’m listening to it. It’s like I’m back in school again, but I won’t have to write an essay when I’m finished. Thank God. No tests either.

Image result for 1984

So what do I think about it? I think Orwell writes really long sentences, I can tell you that. For me, it’s taking too long to get into what I like to call the “meat and potatoes” of the story. It’s a lot of set-up and descriptions of procedures more than anything else. I’m hoping that will change soon. Chapter five was the best so far with the idea of erasing history and vocabulary. Re-writing it, I should say. Scary. Using “ungood” instead of “bad” and why bother having opposites of words. That whole section was eye-opening.

I’ll do a follow-up post when I finish. Don’t look for that anytime soon.

 

It’s a new week. Let’s do this thing.

 

3 thoughts on “What I’m Reading

Leave a Reply

