Songs for Repeat: Part One

Have I mentioned how much I love music? No? Well, I do. Like a lot. I’m one of those clichés, you MUSIC / RAVE http://Promusicianslist.com: know those people who say, “Oh, music saved my life” or “I wouldn’t be here without ‘random band name here’.” Yeah, that’s me.

Music helped me get through a very trying time not too long ago. I’m talking about cranking music so loud I wouldn’t be able to hear my smoke alarm. Someone could’ve robbed me while I was one room away. I’m talking loud, people. Hours of loud, screw everyone and everything, music. It’s how I survived for about six months. But this isn’t about that nor do I want to talk about that.

A few posts ago, I mentioned there are some songs I have to listen to more than once in a row. What I mean is, I can’t listen to them only once. It’s impossible. Yes, I know how weird that sounds.

I wanted to share those songs with you.

1) “This is the Time” Nothing More

You know when you hear a song, and it takes you somewhere? This one takes me to my porch. Epic, right? But really, I used to listen to this on my back patio, cranked up of course, sometimes with headphones, sometimes without, after another day from hell at school, a Coke Zero in one hand, a baby carrot dipped in ranch in the other hand. This band should be bigger than they are. Bigger than Taylor freaking Swift. Lord. Don’t get me started. The guy’s vocal range is insane.

Anyway, I don’t know what it is about this song, but is beyond life. (Warning: I’m going to be cheesy and overdramatic and strange from here on out, OK? I have trouble articulating the awesomeness of some things. Obviously.) And the lead singer is hot as hell, which somehow makes the song sound better. I don’t know why. And, bonus, he has Tyler hair. Always a plus. However, I find the video somewhat hard to watch, since I have a minor drowning phobia, and the dude is chained down for crying out loud. I had a major obsession with this song for a good two months, I’d say. It was my ringtone, the ultimate accolade for any song. If it came on the radio while I was driving, I’d have to go around the block so I could hear the whole thing. Yeah, obsessed. I don’t care. Don’t judge me.

We always start with good intention but lose ourselves along the way.

Are you kidding me? That’s some good stuff right there.

 

2) “Snuff” Slipknot

Yeah, you read that right. Slipknot. Let me start by saying Slipknot is scary. (Although Corey Taylor is not scary. Corey Taylor is sexy.) They are a freaky, frightening band, who wear masks and yell at you, and I can’t really handle their music. BUT, that being said, this song is so unbelievably amazing and emotional and heartfelt. It’s not angry, screamo music. It’s Corey Taylor singing like a freaking genius, and it’s a definite repeat bound song. And I’m so in love with it, I can’t even tell you. The build-up. It’s all about the build-up. And the lyrics. Oh, God. These lyrics. So depressing, yet so, so good.

Plus, I’m crazy about this song in any form. We have the official music video with all kinds of drama, including shattering glass in your hands. We have the live acoustic version where Corey gets so emotional, he has to turn away from the crowd. Oh, the feels. We have the vocals only version so you can say, “Really? That’s the Slipknot guy? But this is pretty.” We have the instrumental version because instrumentals are awesome, and did I mention how great this song is?

I only wish you weren’t my friend
Then I could hurt you in the end
I never claimed to be a saint
My own was banished long ago
It took the death of hope to let you go

 

3. “My Life Story” MxPx

We need to lighten things up. Getting back to having a song take you somewhere, this one takes me back to senior year, when I first heard this band. Now, I must say, this song doesn’t have that truly epic quality. It’s a pretty simple song actually. But, my God, it’s catchy. So catchy in fact that I must listen to it over and over. Twice is the minimum for all of these, by the way.

Part of its appeal is how it reminds me of being young, when life wasn’t so complicated, annoying, and soul-sucking. It’s cute. It’s simple. It has a very generic sound, and it follows a typical verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus structure, but you know what? Who cares?

And I probably shouldn’t admit to this, because I’m noticing an embarrassing pattern here, but I also had a crush on the lead singer of this band, Mike Herrera. Geez.

You change your mind like I change the time
That I was gonna call you or say I was about to

 

4. “High Hopes” Pink Floyd

Can I just start with OMG, because OMG. This song. My Pink Floyd journey is very much a cliché. Let’s face it. I am a walking cliché. I first heard Dark Side of the Moon when I was in middle school, thanks to my brother. We used to listen to my dad’s LP, and it was like nothing I’d heard before. I was into 90s pop and Top 40 at the time. So, yeah. The Backstreet Boys and Pink Floyd aren’t that similar. Anyway, that album became one of my favorites of all time. It wasn’t until after college that I first heard The Wall, and my God, what an album. Nothing short of a masterpiece. Better than DSOTM? Perhaps, but I don’t want to start a heated debate.

Back to this song, I bought a Pink Floyd concert DVD a few years ago, and that was the first time I heard “High Hopes.” It’s extremely peaceful, and I’d put it on when I needed to calm down, which, as a 7th grade teacher, was quite often. It’s beautiful and I love it. And it’s as simple as that. David Gilmour is a god. Period. I’m also happy to report, I’ve never had a crush on any member of Pink Floyd. Of course, they’re all old, but still.

Our weary eyes still stray to the horizon
Though down this road we’ve been so many times

 

5. “Pretty (Ugly Before)” Elliott Smith

This is a bittersweet selection for two reasons. One, Elliott is no longer with us; he committed suicide. His soul was too beautiful for this world. I really mean that. Two, if it weren’t for a certain awesome person I’ve lost contact with, I never would’ve heard of Elliott Smith. I’d like to think I would have discovered his music at some point, but I think it means more coming from this certain person way back when. This song, incidentally, was on an episode of The O.C. Yes, I used to watch The O.C. It was a damn good show. I’ve actually heard some awesome tracks thanks to that show.

I never had a crush on Elliott, but I am in love with what he had to say. His lyrics are deep and meaningful, and his music has a somber mood that is just what you need in some situations, you know? This one, I’d argue, is one of his more “upbeat” songs. Yeah, if you know anything about his music, upbeat is certainly not what comes to mind. I especially love the piano in this song. I have a thing for piano music in songs like this.

Sunshine been keeping me up for days
There is no night time, it’s only a passing phase

 :

Is that not the greatest? So true.

Well, there you have it. I highly doubt you read all that. And if you did, you should really get out of the house more. I have many, many more songs for this list, so I’ll save them until next time. Stay tuned for part 2. I’d like to think I have varied musical tastes, or maybe I’m just kidding myself. But one thing I know for sure: you will never find a country song on a list like this. Or in my possession at all. Sorry, country music, but you have no place in my life.

Clearly, I could talk about music all day. Thanks for reading however much of this you did, and if I have opened your eyes to a new song or band, it makes it all worth it. Happy listening!

Leave a Reply

