Songs for Repeat: Part Four

It’s Part Four. Why am I making these? I have no idea.

What is your favorite music? Do you listen often and what does it do for you? http://www.drdebcarlin.com/great-music-soothes-the-soul/:

16) “Savior” Rise Against

So this guy has one of those voices you either love or hate. I can’t sit here and say he has a great voice. But for a band like Rise Against, it doesn’t really matter. This band too is either one you love or hate. They have a few songs I binge, but “Savior” is the most repeatable.

If this ain’t love then how do we get out?
Because I don’t know
That’s when she said I don’t hate you, boy
I just want to save you while there’s still something left to save
That’s when I told her I love you, girl
But I’m not the answer for the questions that you still have

Hands down, the absolute best part are the lyrics of the chorus. I am in love with the words. The breakdown around 3:00 is pretty epic as well. The chorus of “Savior” is exactly why it’s on this list. Love. It. Actually, the entire song has meaningful lyrics. A poem on the page.

I need to rant for just a sec. This may not be the best song choice to explain what I’m about to explain, but if you take a song like this, and you look at the lyrics, all of them, written out, and you compare them as a whole with a currently popular song, it’s tragic. What is considered popular music has little depth. Today’s hit songs have a basic theme of “You’re hot. Let’s have sex.” Or “Money” or “Drugs” or some combination. No substance. Nothing to ponder. Why is that more popular than this? (Yeah, I realize not ALL popular songs are shallow, but I’m trying to make a point here, OK?)

I just can’t get behind music these days. I feel sorry for today’s youth who think “their music” is the greatest. But it’s all relative, so what’s the point. In another ten years, they’ll look back and wonder why they ever listened to what they did. It happened to me.

 

17) “Existentialism on Prom Night” Straylight Run

I’m pretty sure this is a one-hit-wonder band, but if you’re only going to make one good song, make this one. This track takes me back to high school like some of the others from previous lists. It features an awesome piano part, which of course I learned to play. (I already played piano. I wasn’t so in love with the song that I taught myself to play just for this. That’d make a much cooler story though.) I’d call this a “go loud or go home” song, but I don’t know why. It’s not like it’s heavy or anything. I always listened to it super loud though. I really like this music video too. Any video featuring ASL gets my vote. It’s a shame they didn’t have more songs. This video should have more views too. Oh well.

The best memory I have of this song is when I’d play it on the piano in college. I wasn’t a music major, but my college had these private practice rooms anyone could use. Well, I assumed anyone could. They weren’t locked, so fair game. Anyway, I’d play this on my iPod mini (can you say “retro!”?) and play piano along with it. Good times. Good times.

 

18) “The Luckiest” Ben Folds

My man, Ben Folds. There are some musicians you like because they make great music. And there are some musicians you like because they make great music AND they are awesome in every possible way as a human being. That’s Ben Folds for me. He’s one of my favorite people. Ever.

I don’t know when I first heard Ben. It was probably with “Brick” like everyone else who knows him. Whatever and Ever Amen from Ben Folds Five is one of my favorite albums, even though I think I like his solo stuff more. Rockin The Suburbs is one of my favorite albums ever. When I first got my driver’s license, this was the CD I drove with. I remember it clearly. I believe back then, driving was Freedom. Now it’s Annoying. Bottom line: I love Ben Folds. I love everything about him.

I saw Ben Folds live when he played with an orchestra, and it was one of the greatest times to be alive. My friend and I saw him walking around downtown with some guys while we were trying to find the freaking parking garage. I remember yelling in the car, “Ben Folds is on the street! Ben Folds is on the street!” The show was amazing, and I’d go see him again in a heartbeat.

If I EVER get married, “The Luckiest” is our first dance song. I don’t care what the groom says. It’s this song or the wedding is off. I’m serious.

The saddest part of the whole thing? Ben wrote this for his wife at the time. They have since divorced. Tell me how you could divorce a man who wrote you this song. My God, woman. I don’t care what marital problems you may have had. Have you heard this song? Please.

 

19) “Lydia” Highly Suspect

So there used to be this radio station in my town that played rock music. Because of that, I was exposed to bands I never would’ve known otherwise. Highly Suspect is one of those bands. Tragically, the powers that be turned this awesome rock station into an oldies station. That’s cool and all. I like oldies. But we already have two oldies stations! Man. Why? I’m still not over it, and it’s been months.

The music video is hard to watch if you have drowning issues as I have. But I believe they shot that video in one take and that woman is some kind of professional diver or something like that. Awesome, but still, someone struggling underwater is not entertaining.

No big story here. His voice rules. The song rules. And I repeat it. Multiple times. That is all.

 

20) “Breath” Breaking Benjamin

I’ve managed to hold off on posting another Breaking Benjamin song so I don’t start fangirling all over the page, but I can’t go another post without them. “Breath” became my ode to my job, which is quite endearing when you consider the line:

You take the breath right out of me; You left a hole where my heart should be.

The video is from their concert DVD. They are on the top of my “To-See Live” list. But I want to see this line-up, not the new guys. Sorry, new guys. Oh, I’m so jealous of that crowd. Ben Burnley is too…everything.

“Breath” is probably the first BB song I was obsessed with after “So Cold.” I sort of go through phases with this band. I’ll listen to them non-stop and move on for awhile, but if I hear one song, it starts the obsession over again, until it’s all BB all the time. Is this normal behavior? This can’t be normal behavior.

You better believe I have more songs to share. Stay tuned.

ICYMI:

Part One

Part Two

Part Three

Leave a Reply

