Length Matters #2

I’m talking, of course, about songs. What did you think I meant?

It’s been a while since I’ve posted some music, so I thought I’d share my favorite songs that are a bit long-winded. I went with songs over five minutes, which really isn’t even that long. This is by no means an all inclusive list since I’m not about to do research for this.

Many of these, if not all, have that quality I have decided to call, “You-Think-It’s Over-But-It’s-Not Syndrome.” Very creative, don’t you think? What I also love is how some of these songs have sections, like you could split them into parts and almost make different songs out of one. Awesome.

From shortest to longest, here we go:

“Yellow Ledbetter” Pearl Jam

This one barely makes the cut time-wise, but I love it too much to care. I didn’t get into Pearl Jam until my local radio station started playing them, like constantly. I have no idea what he’s saying, and I don’t think the lyrics in the video are accurate, but again, I love it too much to care.

“Undone (The Sweater Song)” Weezer

This is back when Weezer was cool. Are these guys still together? I have no clue. I used to be into this band big time. I saw them live! Woo! If you heard this and only this, you’d never believe Weezer made several albums. They sound like some high school band practicing in their basement. The music industry is a strange thing.

 

“A Day in the Life” The Beatles

This one isn’t that long, per say, but it definitely has the sections thing I was talking about. I prefer this Beatles over early Beatles. A song like this is much deeper than “I Wanna Hold Your Hand.” Know what I mean?

 

“Silvergun Superman” Stone Temple Pilots

I love me some STP. This song is sooo good. It should be twice as long as this. I love Scott Weiland’s voice. And that epic guitar solo at the end? Nice.

 

“The Moment I Said It” Imogen Heap

Imogen Heap is one of the only female singers I like, and I don’t normally listen to this style of music, but I love her. She’s super creative, plays like thirty-eight instruments, plays things that aren’t even instruments, and her voice is pretty unique too. This song is cool.

 

“Back 2 Good” Matchbox 20

This should be called “Back 2 Middle School.” Oh, memories indeed. This song rules. Such feeling! You think it’s finished, but think again! This live version is impressive.

 

“Bohemian Rhapsody” Queen

What can I say about this? Iconic. It speaks for itself.

 

“Selfless, Cold, and Composed” Ben Folds Five

I love Ben Folds, with or without the five. I tried to learn this on piano, and it was an epic fail. This is one of his best songs for sure.

 

“The Pot” Tool

I’ve mentioned before about this radio station we used to have and how it introduced me to music I wouldn’t have heard otherwise. “The Pot” is one of those songs. Ah, it’s just amazing. Basslines like this are what make me want to learn. Plus, you think it’s over, but it’s not! Love.

 

“Aqualung” Jethro Tull

What is this song even about? Seriously. Based on the opening lines, I don’t think I want to know. But it’s one of my favorite classic rock songs. This dude plays the flute. The freaking flute. In a rock band. I can’t even. You do you, Ian. You do you.

 

“Paranoid Android” Radiohead

I really didn’t want to post the music video, because it’s way past strange, pretty distracting from the song, and one of those sights you can never unsee. “Paranoid Android” is all kinds of awesome. And it has sections galore. My favorite would have to be at 3:35.

 

Almost Anything by Pink Floyd 😀

Pink Floyd loves long songs. Since I’ve already highlighted my love of “Comfortably Numb” and “High Hopes”, both of which could have easily made this list, I’ll go with “Time.” I’m not a fan of the first couple seconds, because it just reminds me of alarm clocks, one of my most hated things ever. Otherwise, it’s a brilliant piece of music from a brilliant album.

 

“How It Ends” DeVotchKa

This song is actually a part of my I’m Only Me soundtrack. I first heard it on So You Think You Can Dance, and it stuck with me. I looked it up, and the rest is history. It’s a weird song, but I like it. Those strings at the end are just haunting. Love it.

 

“You Can’t Always Get What You Want” Rolling Stones

I mean, obviously.

 

“Scenes from an Italian Restaurant” Billy Joel

When I think of songs which specific sections, this immediately comes to mind. This is easily his best song. It’s a classic.

 

“The Path” HIM

I’ve talked about my HIM obsession in an earlier post. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve blasted “The Path.” Oh, man, these lyrics. This song is amazing. Just amazing. A masterpiece from start to finish.

 

“Transatlanticism” Death Cab for Cutie

Ben Gibbard has one of the sweetest voices ever. I really wish he’d make an album of lullabies. I’d buy it. If I’m being honest, they probably could’ve cut about a minute off the end of this one.

Now approaching 8:00+ minutes. It’s getting serious now.

“Stairway to Heaven” Led Zeppelin

Well, duh. How obvious. This is my favorite song of all time. I don’t think any song can top this for me. There are definitely some close seconds, but I have a feeling this will reign supreme for as long as I live. It has it all. What’s not to love? Come on. And you know, without musicians doing all those drugs, we’d never have songs like this. I’m not promoting drug use or anything, but really, think about it. Hmm.

 

“Crush” Dave Matthews Band

I remember listening to this song in middle school. Many times over. This is definitely one of those, you think it’s over, but think again. Let’s hear that chorus one more time!

 

“Won’t Get Fooled Again” The Who

Oh, I love this band. I got to see them in concert, and it was surreal. Pete and Roger are such legends and we were sharing the same air. Mind blown. This song is their magnum opus. When Keith (best drummer ever) comes in around 7:30 and then Roger, that’s just what rock music is all about, no? The live versions are even longer. Pete loves a good jam session.

 

“November Rain” Guns N’ Roses

This list isn’t about the videos, but come on. You’ve got Slash–smoking and rocking out in leather chaps with no shirt–in front of a church in the middle of dessert. It has a wedding and funeral. It has Slash rocking out again on top of a grand piano. Color draining flowers. And, of course, rain. And it’s all so 90s! Personally, I prefer “Sweet Child o Mind” but this one has a good four minutes more to it. It’s pretty impossible to hate “November Rain.”

 

“Konstantine” Something Corporate

I was really into Something Corporate in high school. This song is just solid. Great piano, great vocals, great lyrics. It doesn’t feel as long as it is. I love it. Period.

 

“Sleepwalking Past Hope” HIM

Yeah, yeah. I’ve already used this band. This is one long song, but it’s made up of several parts that fit together so well. I love the intro. I love how the main theme comes back in. I love Ville’s range. It’s pretty and dark and epic. It’s a great piece of music all around.

 

There you have it. I wish I could put the effort used for these lists into things that actually matter. Oh, well. And the point of this? Again, I have no idea.

Leave a Reply

